Hendrick Motorsports

5 24 48 88


Hendrick and Lowe’s Announce Busch Series Drivers

  • Jan 19, 2005

CONCORD, N.C. (Jan. 19, 2005) – Hendrick Motorsports and Team Lowe’s Racing today announced the driver lineup for the team’s No. 5 Lowe’s Chevrolets for the 2005 NASCAR Busch Series season.

Open-wheel standouts Blake Feese and Boston Reid are each scheduled to compete in a minimum of 13 races behind the wheel of the No. 5 Lowe’s Chevrolets.

Feese, 22, is an ARCA (Automobile Racing Club of America) and World of Outlaws winner and Reid, 22, is the 2002 USAC (U.S. Auto Club) Sprint Car Rookie of the Year.

“We’re excited to have these young talents as part of the Team Lowe’s Racing family,” Bob Gfeller, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing and advertising, said. “This will be a unique program in 2005. Instead of one driver, we are giving a few of the most talented young racers in the country a chance to show their talent in the Busch Series.

“Our success at Lowe’s is based on the teamwork of our employees, and I know we’ll see that same teamwork between the drivers and crew of the No. 5 Lowe’s Chevrolet this season.”

Said team owner Rick Hendrick: “Everyone at Hendrick Motorsports is excited to offer these talented young drivers more quality time behind the wheel.

“With the tremendous support of Lowe’s and its vendor-partners, we’re looking forward to another successful season in the Busch Series.”

In addition, Lowe’s and Hendrick Motorsports welcome several new vendor-partners, Sta-Green, Spectracide and Hitachi, to their current stable, which includes Shop-Vac, Briggs & Stratton and Pella. Similar to last year’s program, each will rotate sponsorship of the No. 5 Lowe’s Chevrolets throughout the season.

“Our inaugural season in the Busch Series was exciting,” Gfeller said. “Our motor sports sponsorship provides us with a unique way to educate consumers about our valuable vendor partners and their products. Our new partners only add to an already impressive family of brands for our customers to choose from.”

Feese (above right) and Reid (below right) will assume driving duties following the 2005 Busch Series kickoff at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway. Kyle Busch, who drove the No. 5 Chevrolets to a second-place points finish and Rookie of the Year honors in 2004, will drive the car at the season-opening event as well as the events at Las Vegas Motor Speedway and Watkins Glen International.

Additional Hendrick Motorsports drivers may run select events during the season in the No. 5 Lowe’s Chevrolets. A list of races in which each driver will participate is being finalized. As announced earlier, Jim Long will serve as crew chief for the team.

The No. 5 team, which will compete for the 2005 Busch Series owner championship, has been one of the most successful teams in the Busch Series the past two seasons.

With driver Brian Vickers, the team won the 2003 NASCAR Busch Series championship. Last season, Busch shattered multiple Busch Series rookie records on his way to a runner-up finish in the standings. Combined, Vickers and Busch posted a total of eight wins, six pole positions, 29 top-fives and 43 top-10 finishes in the past two years.


Share This Article

Support Our Partners