Hendrick Motorsports

5 24 48 88


Johnson in New York -- Day four in review

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 4, 2008) – Jimmie Johnson, driver of the No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet, picked up five awards and was honored along with his No. 48 team and teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. at the annual NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Media Luncheon at Cipriani in New York City.

For the sixth straight year, Earnhardt won the Most Popular Driver Award. More than 1.2 million fan votes were cast for Earnhardt.

“It’s a great honor to be chosen by the fans once again,” Earnhardt said. “NASCAR fans are the best in all of sports and we’re fortunate to have a large group of fans that have been extremely loyal to us over the years.”

Johnson, the three-time defending Cup champion, picked up five awards and his No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports team received three other awards.

“Today was an opportunity to reflect back on all of the hard work and effort put in by everyone at the race shop,” Johnson said. “The emotions kind of go over the top when you take a moment and realize just how special each of these individuals have been in sharing in the success we’ve had the past three seasons.”

Here are the awards that Hendrick Motorsports collected:
Most Popular Driver Award – Dale Earnhardt Jr.
MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award – Jay Wiles of Hendrick Motorsports
Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Award – No. 48 team
Goodyear Gatorback Fastest Lap Award – Jimmie Johnson
WIX Filters Lap Leader Award – Jimmie Johnson
Coors Light Pole Award – Jimmie Johnson
Sunoco Diamond Performance Award – Jimmie Johnson
Goodyear Award – Jimmie Johnson
Championship Sponsor Award – Lowe’s
Champion Crew Chief Award – Chad Knaus