Hendrick Motorsports

5 24 48 88


Johnson will try for four-peat at Phoenix

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (April 13, 2009) – Jimmie Johnson will go for four-in-a-row at Phoenix International Raceway on Saturday night.

The last driver to win four consecutive races at a given track: Johnson, himself. The driver of the No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet won four straight at Lowe’s Motor Speedway from 2004-2005.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series record for consecutive wins at a track is seven, co-held by Richard Petty (Richmond (Va.) International Raceway, 1970-73) and Darrell Waltrip (Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway, 1981-84).

Coincidentally, Phoenix is a track with a history of sustained success. Five drivers have posted multiple victories at Phoenix—each time in consecutive races: Davey Allison (1991-92), Jeff Burton (2000-01), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2003-04), Kevin Harvick (both 2006) and Johnson (2007-08).

Likewise, single-race dominance has happened more than once at Phoenix. Since the inception of loop data in 2005, two drivers have scored a perfect driver rating of 150.0 at Phoenix—Kurt Busch in 2005 and Kevin Harvick in 2006.

Johnson has come close to landing on the perfect driver rating list at Phoenix. In his November win last season, Johnson posted a near-perfect driver rating of 149.9, leading 217 laps of the 313 laps and tallying 66 fastest laps run. (Note: Johnson has scored one perfect driver rating in his career, at the second Auto Club Speedway race last season.)