Hendrick Motorsports

5 24 48 88


Johnson will be honored at White House on Wednesday

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Aug. 17, 2009) – Jimmie Johnson, the three-time defending NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, will be honored at the White House on Wednesday.

Johnson’s teammates Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. also will attend the South Lawn event, which will include the 2008 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers and several past champions and special guests.

“NASCAR is once again honored to have its drivers recognized by the President of the United States,” said NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France. “NASCAR is rooted deep in America’s fabric and represents the best of sports and side-by-side competition.”

Past champions and special guests in attendance include Dale Jarrett, Bobby Labonte, Terry Labonte, Juan Pablo Montoya, Richard Petty, Rusty Wallace and Darrell Waltrip.

This will be the ninth time the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion has been honored at the White House since 2000. NASCAR’s first official visit to the White House was in 1978 during the Carter administration.