Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. – Now that 2020 has arrived, it’s only a matter of time until the NASCAR Cup Series returns to the track to kick off a brand-new season.

The first racing action of the year will commence Sunday, Feb. 9, at 3 p.m. ET with The Clash.

This season, all four Hendrick Motorsports drivers will be eligible to compete in the season-opening exhibition event.

Chase Elliott made the field with four pole awards in 2019, William Byron made it thanks to his five poles in 2019, Jimmie Johnson is eligible due to his one pole last season, and Alex Bowman will race in the event as a former Daytona 500 pole winner.

The field is made of drivers who earned poles in 2019 as well as former Clash winners, Daytona 500 winners and Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time in 2019. Each playoff driver from last season is also eligible for the race.

That leaves 20 drivers eligible for this year’s event, which will span 75 laps.

The Clash will be broadcast on FOX Sports 1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.