Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. -- The DAYTONA 500 signifies the start of the season for the Cup Series, but it's also unique as a standalone race.

Many have dubbed it the Super Bowl in NASCAR, and with the culture, festivities and prestige that comes with the race, that isn't too much of a hyperbole.

While many know that the DAYTONA 500 is a really big deal, here are seven fun facts about "The Great American Race" that you might not know.

 The first DAYTONA 500 was in 1959 at Daytona International Speedway, where it remains today. Before that, races were held on the beach at what used to be the Daytona Beach Road Course.

As the name suggests, the DAYTONA 500 is a 500-mile race that takes 200 laps to complete.

Hendrick Motorsports has earned eight DAYTONA 500 wins with five different drivers, which is tied with Wood Brothers Racing for the most different drivers for one team. Those drivers are Geoffrey Bodine (1986), Darrell Waltrip (1989), Jeff Gordon (1995, 1997, 2005), Jimmie Johnson (2006, 2013) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2014).

- When Waltrip won in 1989, he did the "Ickey Shuffle," which was a celebration dance popularized by NFL player Elbert "Ickey" Woods. He even spiked his race helmet in the same manner Woods did with his NFL helmet.

- Waltrip also had good luck with the number 17 during his victory. He won "The Great American Race" on Feb. 17 in his No. 17 car during his 17th career attempt.

- Hendrick Motorsports has won two of its eight DAYTONA 500s on Feb. 16, which is the date of this year's event. Bodine won it first in 1986 and Gordon won it 11 years later in 1997.

- Johnson is the only racer to have swept the Daytona races in a season, winning both the 2013 DAYTONA 500 and in the 2013 July race at Daytona.

Fans can tune in to the DAYTONA 500 on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET on FOX.