Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. -- Hendrick Motorsports has crushed the field since the Brickyard 400's inaugural race in 1994. 

Jeff Gordon took the checkered flag in the first Cup Series race at the Indiana track and went on to win four more times there. Gordon's five Indianapolis victories is the most of all Cup Series drivers. Jimmie Johnson ranks second in that category with four IMS wins of his own.

Check out more key numbers and stats as Hendrick Motorsports heads to Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

  • Hendrick Motorsports won the inaugural Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1994 and never looked back. The team has posted an all-time record 10 NASCAR Cup Series victories at the world-famous venue, which is twice the next-best total (Joe Gibbs Racing). Hendrick Motorsports holds the track records for top-five finishes (27), top-10s (42) and laps led (1,030). It has never gone more than three Brickyard races without a posting a win. 
  • Three different Hendrick Motorsports drivers have scored wins in the last eight Cup Series races held at Indianapolis: Johnson (2012), Gordon (2014) and Kasey Kahne (2017). A Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet has led the most laps in four of the last nine races there.
  • Hendrick Motorsports has won 10 of the 24 NASCAR Cup Series races held at Indianapolis for a win percentage of 38.46%, the best for any team at any active track and third all-time (minimum 10 races). Petty Enterprises posted win percentages of 50% at two inactive Cup tracks: Virginia's South Boston Speedway (five wins in 10 races) and Tennessee’s Smoky Mountain Raceway (six wins in 12 races). 
  • Sunday’s race at Indianapolis will fall on July 5. The last time a NASCAR Cup Series event was held on that date, Hendrick Motorsports scored a 1-2 finish at a different historic track. Driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. won for car owner Rick Hendrick at Daytona International Speedway on July 5, 2015, with teammate Johnson coming in second. 
  • The Brickyard 400 is considered one of NASCAR’s modern "crown jewel" races, and Johnson is one of only four drivers in history to have won all four – the DAYTONA 500, the Charlotte 600, the Brickyard 400 and the Southern 500. Johnson has earned 12 crown jewel victories over his 19-season career and joins the ranks of current driver Kevin Harvick, as well as NASCAR Hall of Famers Gordon and Dale Earnhardt.