Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. -- On Wednesday, the All-Star Race format was announced for the 36th edition of the event.

The non-points event, which will take place at Bristol Motor Speedway for the first time, will still consist of four stages at 55 laps, 35 laps, 35 laps and 15 laps.

Green and yellow flags will count in the first three stages and only green flags will count during the last stage. If the race has to restart with two laps to go in the last stage, there will be unlimited attempts as long the race is under green flag conditions to end the race under a green, white or checkered finish.

For the NASCAR Open, which will be before the All-Star Race, there will be three segments that consist of 35 laps, 35 laps and 15 laps. The winner of each segment will secure a spot in the All-Star Race, along with the winner of the through fan voting.

This year, the choose rule will be in effect for both the NASCAR Open and the NASCAR All-Star Race. This allows the drivers to choose what lane they want for restarts. NASCAR won't have an actual cone on the track for the restarts. Instead, there will be a designated point on the track where drivers choose which lane they want for the restarts. If a driver doesn't make a clear choice of the inside or outside lane, he will be issued a penalty and restart at the back of the field.

"There has already been an incredible amount of buzz around this year’s NASCAR All-Star Race with the move to Bristol Motor Speedway," said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer. "In addition to the thrilling racing we’re used to seeing at Bristol, the choose rule is going to add another dynamic to the race. Drivers and fans have been asking for this change and I can’t think of a better time to try it than the all-star race."

Chase Elliott, Jimmie Johnson and Alex Bowman already are locked into the All-Star Race. William Byron can join the crowd a couple of ways - either by winning a race between now and the All-Star event or through fan voting.

Hendrick Motorsports at least three cars in the All-Star Race for the past 21 season - a record-setting streak. The organization has had four cars in the race in 16 of the last 18 years.

Overall, Hendrick Motorsports has eight All-Star Race wins, which is double the victories of second-place Richard Childress Racing and Roush Fenway Racing.

The race will still be on July 15 at 7 p.m. on FOX Sports 1. The festivities will be a one-day event and, as in previous All-Star Races, a $1 million prize will be on the line. NASCAR is allowing 30,000 fans to attend the event.