Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C.— Wednesday afternoon, NASCAR announced that the season-opening event, The Clash, will return to Daytona International Speedway to kick off the 2017 season.

And Chase Elliott, Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. are all eligible to compete in The Clash at the Florida track on Feb. 18, 2017.

The 75-lap race will again be split into two segments with a competition caution at lap 25 separating the segments.

“We’re bringing back The Clash at Daytona,” said Chip Wile, Daytona International Speedway president. “The Clash was a race name that has always been popular among both the competitors and race fans. We’re looking forward to bringing it back and building on the rich history of this thrilling and always unpredictable event that kicks off the NASCAR season.”

Unlike last year’s event, the starting field for annual season-opening event will not be a predetermined number of cars. Drivers who are eligible to compete are 2016 pole award winners, former Clash race winners, former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time in 2016 and drivers who qualified for the 2016 Chase.

The Clash will be broadcast live on FOX Sports 1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio at 8 p.m. ET.