Newsletter Signup

INDIANAPOLIS -- It's race day at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Here's a primer to get you prepared.


Today's race will be broadcast on NBC, IMS and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

The race runs 160 laps. Stage 1 ends on Lap 50. Stage 2 ends on Lap 100.

The event is slated to begin at 2:30 p.m. ET.


Jimmie Johnson led his Hendrick Motorsports teammates in qualifying, earning the fourth position. The No. 48 team changed a rear gear following qualifying, however, and Johnson will start Sunday's race at the rear of the field.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will roll off the grid in 13th, Chase Elliott qualified in the 16th position and Kasey Kahne will take the green flag from 19th.



Hendrick Motorsports has won nine of the 23 NASCAR Cup Series races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Jeff Gordon's five wins are the most all-time, and Jimmie Johnson's four rank second among all drivers. The organization has also earned five pole positions, 25 top-five finishes and 39 top-10 finishes in addition to 1,010 laps led at the track.