Newsletter Signup
Liberty University

Article sponsored by
Liberty University

CONCORD, N.C. –  In 2001, Kansas Speedway opened its doors and hosted its first NASCAR Cup Series race on Sept. 30.

In the inaugural Cup Series race at the brand-new venue, Jeff Gordon led Hendrick Motorsports to Victory Lane.

Rolling off the grid in second, the driver was in the lead by Lap 9, and led the race five different times. He was in front for a total of 53 laps, but it was the final 22 that guided him to the win.

When the Cup Series returned to Kansas the following year, Gordon continued to dominate the 1.5-mile oval, leading 116 laps and the final 57 to win his second race in a row at Kansas.

Since Gordon’s back to back victories, the organization has added four more wins at the track, bringing its win total to six – the most all-time of Cup Series teams at the venue.

Jimmie Johnson won three of those races, and Gordon won again at the track in 2014.

Gordon and Johnson share the record for most wins all-time at Kansas – each driver finding Victory Lane three times.