Newsletter Signup
Liberty University

Article sponsored by
Liberty University

CONCORD, N.C. – At Kansas Speedway, Hendrick Motorsports’ six wins, five pole positions, 30 top-five finishes and 53 top-10s are all NASCAR Cup Series records.

Jimmie Johnson and Jeff Gordon have both reached Victory Lane three times at the 1.5-oval, which ties the two drivers with Kevin Harvick for the most wins all-time at the track.

After winning the first two Cup Series races ever held at Kansas Speedway in 2001 and 2002, Gordon captured his third and final checkered flag 12 years later.

In the May 10, 2014, event, Gordon started 13th, and by Lap 44, he had his first lead of the day.

It lasted only one lap, but Gordon eventually went back ahead on 260, and he stayed in front for the final eight laps of the race en route to the win.

Fast forward to May 9, 2015, it was Johnson’s turn to guide Hendrick Motorsports to Victory Lane.

Rolling off the grid 19th, Johnson steadily gained positions throughout the day, finally taking the lead on Lap 258 of the 267-lap race.

Once he went in front, he held his lead and paced the field for the final 10 laps all the way Victory Lane.

It marked Johnson’s third win at the 1.5-oval and Hendrick Motorsports’ sixth and most recent win at the venue.