Newsletter Signup
Liberty University

Article sponsored by
Liberty University

CONCORD, N.C. – At Martinsville Speedway, Hendrick Motorsports has reached Victory Lane 24 times – the most wins all-time by any team at any track.

Eighteen of those victories came courtesy of Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson, with each driver earning nine victories at the 0.526-mile paperclip.

And between 2012 and 2013, the tandem worked together to capture Hendrick Motorsports a three-peat at the Virginia track.

The run of success started on Oct. 28, 2012, with Johnson finding Victory Lane after starting the day on the pole and leading 193 total laps en route to the checkered flag.

When the Cup Series returned to Martinsville the following spring, Johnson continued to dominate the paperclip.

He earned his second consecutive pole at the venue, and this time around, the driver led 346 laps of the 500-lap event, including each of the final 138 circuits to capture back-to-back Martinsville wins.

In the October 2013 race, it was Gordon’s turn to lead Hendrick Motorsports to another Martinsville checkered flag.

After a ninth-place start, the 2019 NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee took his first lead of the day on Lap 282. He led 78 total laps, including the last 21, to give Hendrick a three-peat at Martinsville Speedway.

Since the three-peat, the organization has added three more wins at the Virginia track, with Johnson earning the team’s most recent in an October 2016 playoff race.