Newsletter Signup
Liberty University

Article sponsored by
Liberty University

CONCORD, N.C. – Since the NASCAR Cup Series added Texas Motor Speedway to its annual season circuit in 1997, Hendrick Motorsports has earned nine wins, 37 top-five finishes, 67 top-10s, six pole positions and 2,285 laps led.

And in just the third race held at the 1.5-mile venue, the organization found Victory Lane for its first of nine victories, courtesy of Terry Labonte.

In the March 28, 1999 event, the Corpus, Christi, Texas native took the green flag in fourth, and took his first lead of the day by Lap 90, pacing the field for 35 circuits.

He led the race four different times for a total of 124 laps, but it was the final 12 that guided Hendrick Motorsports to its first win in the Lone Star State. 

Almost 20 years later after Labonte’s win, the organization’s Texas win total has jumped to nine, which is tied with Roush Fenway Racing for the most Cup wins all-time at Texas.

Jeff Gordon found Victory Lane at the Texas track in 2009, and Jimmie Johnson has added seven wins of his own, which is an all-time Texas record.

Just last year, Johnson earned his seventh win at the track and Hendrick Motorsports' ninth and most recent win at the venue.

With a win this weekend, Texas Motor Speedway would become the 14th track where Hendrick Motorsports has posted double-digit wins.