Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. -- In just three days, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will crown its 2016 champion.

After winning in both the Round of 12 and Round of 8 in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, Jimmie Johnson earned his way into the Championship 4. And if he were to beat his three competitors to the checkered flag Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway, he would become a seven-time champion.

The feat would put him in elite company, tying Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty for the most Cup championships all-time. caught up with Petty for his take as Johnson sits on the verge of history. Take a look at the video below.