Newsletter Signup
Liberty University

Article sponsored by
Liberty University

CONCORD, N.C. – When it comes to restrictor-plate records, Hendrick Motorsports owns quite a few of them.

The organization leads all active teams in restrictor-plate races in wins (24), sweeps of the top-two finishing positions (nine), poles (31), top-five finishes (104) top-10s (170) and laps led (4,598).

Jeff Gordon is the all-time leader in restrictor-plate victories with 12, including six wins at Talladega Superspeedway.

Followed by wins at the Alabama superspeedway in 1996 and 200, the 2019 Hall of Fame Inductees’ next four wins at the track came in just a four-year span.

Gordon’s streak of success at the track began on April 25, 2004, where he led 15 laps of the 188-lap event, including the final six circuits on the way to his third career victory at Talladega.

The following year, his fourth win at the venue came in dominant fashion.

Rolling off the grid in second, the driver took over the top spot on the opening lap, and  went on to lead 139 of 194 laps en route to Victory Lane.

Fast forward to 2007, Gordon captured his fifth and sixth victories at the track, earning a sweep at the track that season and making it four wins in four seasons at Talladega.