Newsletter Signup

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Racing returns tomorrow afternoon.

The Clash – the annual exhibition event at Daytona International Speedway – will get underway at 3 p.m. ET on Sunday.

Chase Elliott, Jimmie Johnson and Alex Bowman will compete in the race, while William Byron is not eligible. The field includes 2018 pole award winners and playoff contenders as well as former Clash winners, former Daytona 500 champions and former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time in 2018.

A drawing by crew chiefs Saturday evening at the track determined the starting order for The Chase, and Bowman will lead his Hendrick Motorsports teammates to the green flag.

Bowman will start fifth, followed by Johnson in 13th and Elliott in 16th.

Elliott, however, will move to the rear of the field before the green flag due to moving to a backup car after being involved in an incident during practice for The Clash.

"More than anything I don’t really think it affects tomorrow a whole lot," Elliott said after the incident, "I just hate that you tear up race cars."

Paul Menard will roll off the grid on the pole.

The Clash will be broadcast on FOX Sports 1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio. The 75-lap event will be divided into two segments, with a competition caution at Lap 25 separating the stages.

Four different Hendrick Motorsports drivers have combined to win The Clash on six occasions: Ken Schrader (1989, 1990), Jeff Gordon (1994, 1997), Johnson (2005) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2008).