CONCORD, N.C. -- NASCAR announced the qualifications needed for Cup Series drivers to participate in the Clash for the 2021 season.

The updated requirements reflect the 2020 season. Normally, the number of pole awards feed into how the field is set for the Clash. Due to safety precautions at the track from the coronavirus pandemic in 2020, NASCAR's requirements to run in the 2021 Clash are as follows:

  • 2020 pole award winners
  • Previous Clash winners who were full-time drivers in 2020
  • Past DAYTONA 500 winners who were full-time drivers in 2020
  • Past DAYTONA 500 pole winners who were full-time drivers in 2020
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series playoff drivers
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series race winners
  • 2020 NASCAR Cup Series stage winners

Chase Elliott, William Byron and Alex Bowman all are eligible to participate in the upcoming Clash. All three are 2020 Cup Series playoff drivers and all three won a race in 2020.

Elliott also is a 2020 pole winner from his fastest lap before the spring race at Phoenix. Bowman and Byron are both former DAYTONA 500 pole sitters and Bowman and Elliott won stages in 2020.

The Clash will be Tuesday, Feb. 9 under the lights at the Daytona Road Course. Elliott currently is the reigning winner at the road course.