CONCORD, N.C. – Chase Elliott is set to make his third straight Championship 4 appearance. He vies for the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series driver's championship against Joey Logano, Christopher Bell and Ross Chastain at Phoenix Raceway this Sunday, Nov. 6 at 3 p.m. ET on NBC, Peacock, MRN Radio and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio (Channel 90). 

RELATED: How Hendrick Motorsports' playoff drivers stack up at Phoenix

Elliott is one of four drivers in the history of Hendrick Motorsports to reach the Championship 4 since the elimination-style format was adopted in 2014. 

The No. 5 team with driver Kyle Larson reached the owner's Championship 4 and will be competing against the teams of Chastain (No. 1), Bell (No. 20) and Logano (No. 22) for the owner's championship. Should the No. 5 team secure the owner's championship, it would mark just the third time in Cup Series history that the driver and owner championships were split. The previous two instances came in 1954 and 1963. 

How have the Hendrick Motorsports teams that reached the Championship 4 fared in the title races held at Homestead-Miami Speedway and Phoenix? Read on to find out. 

RELATED: See every Cup Series championship won at Hendrick Motorsports

2015: Jeff Gordon
Race result: Sixth at Homestead-Miami
Standings: Finished third
Recap: In his final full-time season, Gordon’s quest for a fifth championship came up just short at Homestead-Miami. Gordon was the first Hendrick Motorsports driver to reach the Championship 4 in the elimination-style playoff format that was introduced the year prior.

2016: Jimmie Johnson 
Race result: Won at Homestead-Miami
Standings: Finished first and won championship
Recap: Johnson fought back from starting at the rear to earn his series-tying seventh premier series championship – matching the mark of NASCAR Hall of Famers Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty. Johnson got the best of Larson on a restart with two to go for the historic victory. 

2020: Chase Elliott
Race result: Won at Phoenix
Standings: Finished first and won championship
Recap: Elliott overcame a back-of-the-field start to win his first Cup Series championship. The Dawsonville, Georgia, native led a race-best 153 laps and dominated the final stage to score the title. 

2021: Kyle Larson
Race result: Won at Phoenix
Standings: Finished first and won championship
Recap: A clutch pit stop set Larson up to lead the final 28 laps of the race to cap off his 10-win season in style with his first Cup Series championship. The Elk Grove, California, native led a race-high 107 laps on the day as well. 

2021: Chase Elliott
Race result: Fifth at Phoenix
Standings: Finished fourth
Recap: Elliott’s second straight Championship 4 appearance saw him lead 94 laps but come up short in his bid to keep the title. But teammate Larson kept the championship home at Hendrick Motorsports though.