CONCORD, N.C. - A new qualifying format has been set for superspeedway races.

NASCAR made the announcement Monday morning, and the new qualifying rules will take effect starting at Talladega Superspeedway in May for all three national series.

There will now be only two rounds of qualifying (instead of three), with the drivers posting the top-12 lap speeds advancing to the second round. Each driver will have one timed lap in each round of qualifying. NASCAR will also set a predetermined timed interval for each race vehicle to enter the track.

The qualifying order for the first round will be chosen by a random draw and the drivers in final round will qualify in order by slowest to fastest speeds from the first round. Between the two rounds there will be a 10-minute break.

After the first qualifying round is completed, positions 13 and beyond will be set according to the lap times the drivers posted. The drivers who posted the 12 fastest lap times of the first round will have their speeds reset for the final round and their starting positions will be set according to the times they post in the final round. Between each qualifying lap, the race vehicles will be impounded by NASCAR, but vehicles advancing to the final round will be able to adjust tape and use a cool-down unit during the break.

Tune in on May 2 on FOX at 1 p.m. ET to see the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series take on the new qualifying format at Talladega Superspeedway.