CONCORD, N.C. – Hendrick Motorsports' 40th anniversary kicked off in a big way with William Byron's 2024 DAYTONA 500 victory – 40 years to the day of the organization's first start in the NASCAR Cup Series on February 19. 

The celebration of the team's 40th anniversary will be front and center at Martinsville Speedway on Sunday, April 7. Nearly 40 years from the organization's landmark first win by Geoff Bodine at the Virginia short track, Hendrick Motorsports will sport special red paint schemes to honor the company's ruby anniversary. Team owner Rick Hendrick will drive the pace car and Bodine and team vice chairman Jeff Gordon will serve as co-grand marshals. 

RELATED: See the Martinsville cars | Hendrick Motorsports celebrates 40th anniversary

"This year being the 40th anniversary, Martinsville (Speedway) has been talked about a lot – more of the first win side of things," Kyle Larson said. "Before I got here, I knew what Martinsville meant to Hendrick Motorsports. Once I got here, though, you feel it more than you had heard."

Bodine's win prevented Hendrick from shutting down the fledging team and the rest is history. Today, Hendrick Motorsports is the winningest Cup Series organization with 304 wins (with the latest victory coming from William Byron at Circuit of The Americas). Last month at Bristol Motor Speedway, the team became the first to cross the 80,000 laps led.

RELATED: Looking back at the first win for Hendrick Motorsports | Key numbers

Martinsville has been instrumental in the team's success in the sport's top series. Their 28 wins are the most by any team on any one track. Nine drivers have contributed to that total: Gordon and Jimmie Johnson (nine wins each), Darrell Waltrip (four), Bodine, Alex Bowman, Byron, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott and Larson. Over one-eighth of the team's laps led (10,614) have come at the 0.526-mile track. 

"It felt like I had finally done something that was worthy of recognition at Hendrick Motorsports," Byron said of his 2022 win. "To win a grandfather clock that puts you on a list with a number of guys who have won a lot of races here. That was one of my biggest wins because it was at a racetrack that is important to this company."

All four drivers in the current lineup – Bowman (fall of 2021), Byron (spring of 2022), Elliott (fall of 2020) and Larson (spring of 2023) – have won at Martinsville. It is the only track that all four have won at with Hendrick Motorsports.

RELATED: See every Hendrick Motorsports win at Martinsville

"I'm proud to have contributed in a small way in comparison to guys like Jimmie (Johnson) and Jeff (Gordon). Certainly, I'm proud to have been a part of this family for a long time," Elliott, who has been with the team for nine full-time seasons, the longest tenure among the current stable of drivers, said.

To have the sustained success that Hendrick Motorsports has had takes more than talented drivers and crew chiefs. Hendrick consistently says everything is about the people of the company. It also involves leadership instilling a tremendous culture around the Concord, North Carolina, campus. 

"There's a lot of great leadership around," Bowman said. "From the top down, Mr. H is obviously super involved. To have (vice chairman) Jeff Gordon, (team president and general manager) Jeff Andrews, (vice president of competition) Chad Knaus and everybody who does such a good job leading the ship, it is really cool to be a part of."

RELATED: Martinsville paint scheme reveals 'special' to Hendrick

As the track president of Martinsville, Clay Campbell has seen his share of memorable moments at his facility. There was Earnhardt Jr.'s 2014 win or Gordon's final victory in 2015 under twilight, which led to the track installing lights. He is thrilled to have the track play host to the celebration, which will also see Hendrick Motorsports host a company outing for its employees. 

"We are so excited to partner with them to do what we can to elevate that experience," Campbell said. "There are going to be so many things. It is going to be a weekend to remember."