FORT WORTH, Tex. – With Kyle Larson's pole position at Texas Motor Speedway, Hendrick Motorsports is the first NASCAR Cup Series organization to earn 250 poles. 

Larson's lap of 190.369 mph in the No. 5 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 earned him the pole position. He has contributed 11 poles to the organization's total of 250, which ranks seventh among all drivers in team history. The 250 poles have come from 20 drivers and across 31 different tracks. The Texas pole marked Larson's third consecutive top starting spot in the 2024 season.

"Whenever you can kind of be 'the guy,' I guess, to know that your name is going to be next to that milestone number – it’s pretty special," Larson said. "When I was able to be a part of win 269, you feel the excitement, the happiness from Rick (Hendrick) and everybody that’s been a part of the organization for a long time. Even being out there on the opposite side of things – with William (Byron) winning 300 last year here at Texas, I was obviously super bummed because I was dominating the race and lost, but at the same point, I was really happy for the team. Even last week, I'm obviously bummed I didn't win, but super, super happy for the team.

"Especially this year, being the 40th anniversary season for Hendrick Motorsports, there are these milestones that are all kind of coming up right now. It’s just cool to get the 250th Cup Series pole, and I feel like I’m contributing to the record books at Hendrick Motorsports."

RELATED: Key numbers to know for Hendrick Motorsports

Hendrick Motorsports is celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2024. The pole mark is just the latest in several milestones by Hendrick Motorsports in the last year. The team led its 80,000th lap in the sport's top series in March. The organization earned its 300th Cup Series win at Texas (by William Byron) in September of 2023 and the Hendrick Motorsports engine department scored its 500th national series win (by Larson) in the Cup Series race at Darlington earlier that month. Last week, the team earned the first top-three sweep of positions at Martinsville Speedway in its 40th anniversary race

"Every time we hit a mark, we'll move it a little higher," team owner Rick Hendrick said. "I think all of our people expect that and we love that. We love the challenge and when there is a high water mark, we go after it."

The organization's first pole came from Geoff Bodine in 1984 at Bristol Motor Speedway. 

PHOTOS: Drivers to win poles at Hendrick Motorsports

"There are two things from an engine perspective that carry nearly all of our focus: power and durability," Scott Maxim, director of powertrain for Hendrick Motorsports, said. "Every time we line up to qualify, the goal of that team is to be their very best and ultimately to win the pole.

"Our engine department relishes the opportunity to compete to win the day and to win that competition. This is a huge source of pride because there is a lot of effort that goes into being the best every day."

POLES BY DRIVER (as of April 13: 250 poles)
Note: Current drivers in bold
Jeff Gordon: 81
Jimmie Johnson: 36
Geoff Bodine: 22
Ken Schrader: 17
William Byron: 13
Chase Elliott: 12
Kyle Larson: 11
Mark Martin: 10
Tim Richmond: 9
Dale Earnhardt Jr.: 8
Terry Labonte: 7
Kasey Kahne: 5
Alex Bowman: 4
Ricky Rudd: 4
Brian Vickers: 4
Kyle Busch: 2
Darrell Waltrip: 2
Ricky Craven: 1
Casey Mears: 1
Greg Sacks: 1

POLES BY TRACK (as of April 13: 250 poles)
Daytona International Speedway: 23
Martinsville Speedway: 20
Charlotte Motor Speedway: 19
Richmond Raceway: 19
Phoenix Raceway: 15
Pocono Raceway: 14
Talladega Superspeedway: 13
Bristol Motor Speedway: 12
Michigan International Speedway: 11
Dover Motor Speedway: 10
Sonoma Raceway: 10
Darlington Raceway: 8
Texas Motor Speedway: 8
Watkins Glen International: 8
New Hampshire Motor Speedway: 7
Kansas Speedway: 6
Rockingham Speedway: 6
Atlanta Motor Speedway: 5
Auto Club Speedway: 5
Indianapolis Motor Speedway: 5
North Wilkesboro Speedway: 5
Chicagoland Speedway: 4
Homestead-Miami Speedway: 4
Circuit of The Americas: 2
Kentucky Speedway: 2
Las Vegas Motor Speedway: 2
Riverside International Raceway: 2
Road America: 2
Bristol Motor Speedway Dirt: 1
Charlotte Motor Speedway ROVAL: 1
Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course: 1