Hendrick Motorsports

5 24 48 88


Staubach, Aikman Form Alliance with HMS

LAS VEGAS (March 7, 2004) – Former Dallas Cowboys All-Pro quarterbacks Roger Staubach and Troy Aikman announced Sunday that their motor sports organization, Hall of Fame Racing, has formed an alliance with Hendrick Motorsports and aims to run a full-time entry in the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series beginning in 2005.

Rick Hendrick, owner of Hendrick Motorsports, joined Aikman on FOX’s pre-race telecast from Las Vegas to unveil the plans.

The alliance with Hendrick, winner of nine overall NASCAR championships, will provide Hall of Fame Racing with the equipment, resources and technology to give them a competitive edge as a first-year NEXTEL Cup team in 2005.

“We want to be competitive right out of the box, but we also know that’s a big hill to climb,” Aikman said.  “With this relationship with Rick, we will be able to offer our sponsors a solid all-round racing package.  We have been close several times on attracting the right sponsor partner, but were unable to push the ball over the goal line.

“I sincerely believe that now we are offering a sponsor as good a package as there is in NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series racing.  I hope all of this translates into us racing in 2005.”

Staubach added:  “I’ve always been enthusiastic about our entry into NASCAR, but I can honestly say that having the huge hand that is being provided by a man I respect and admire the way I do Rick, well I guess you could say I’m way past enthusiastic.”

Likewise, Hendrick also is pleased to have the opportunity to assist Aikman and Staubach in their venture into the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series.

“It is a great opportunity not only for Hendrick Motorsports but also for NASCAR to have two widely recognized and respected NFL greats come into our arena and chase another prestigious championship in sports,” Hendrick said.  “We are extremely optimistic that our resources—coupled with the name recognition and charisma of Troy and Roger—now provide Hall of Fame Racing with a strong overall package to attract sponsorship and be competitive from the outset.”

Staubach and Aikman, who led the Cowboys to five Super Bowl titles, partnered with veteran Trans-Am driver Bill Saunders to form Hall of Fame Racing in January of 2003.  While the team’s corporate headquarters will be based in Dallas, the racing operation will be located in Charlotte, N.C.

Hall of Fame Racing’s next primary objective will be to locate a primary sponsor as well as associate sponsors in preparation for the 2005 NEXTEL Cup season.  Once the sponsors are secured, the team will focus on hiring team personnel and a driver.

Staubach and Aikman bring an immediate championship pedigree to the team from an ownership standpoint as illustrated by their illustrious football careers.

Prior to joining the Cowboys, Staubach played quarterback for Navy and won the Heisman Trophy as a junior in 1963.  After four years of service in the Navy, including one in Vietnam, he joined Dallas.  Staubach played for the Cowboys from 1969-79 and captured two Super Bowl titles.  The first came in 1972 at Super Bowl VI—where he was named Most Valuable Player—and the second at Super Bowl XII in 1978.  Staubach, a four-time All-NFC selection who led the NFL in passing four times, was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1985.

Following football, Staubach excelled in the business world, which includes a successful national commercial real estate firm that employs almost 1,200 people in more than 50 offices in 46 cities throughout the United States.  The firm, in which Staubach serves as chairman and chief executive officer, also has a joint venture with 134 offices in 34 countries.

Aikman, who starred at UCLA, was the first selection overall in the 1989 NFL draft.  He played for the Cowboys from 1989-2000, earning six consecutive Pro Bowl selections from 1991-96.  He guided the Cowboys to three Super Bowl championships in four years, winning the crown in 1992 (Super Bowl XXVII), ’93 (XXVIII) and ’95 (XXX).  Aikman also was named MVP in Super Bowl XXVII.  He is the Cowboys’ all-time leader in passing yardage, touchdowns and completion percentage.

Aikman currently is a football analyst and announcer for FOX.


Share This Article

Support Our Partners