Hendrick Motorsports

5 24 48 88


Gordon's crew scores Daytona pit road award

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 5, 2010)—Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 crew claimed the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award last Saturday at Daytona International Speedway to collect the team’s second straight win and fourth overall in the pit road competition.

The No. 24 DuPont crew has a two-race lead in the Tissot standings at the halfway point of the season. The pit crews for Martin Truex Jr. and Matt Kenseth are tied for second with two wins each.

Gordon’s No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet spent the least amount of time on pit road – 217.313 seconds – during the 400-mile event at Daytona. The pit road effort helped Gordon to a third-place finish—his ninth top-five result of the season.

Gordon’s team edged out Clint Bowyer’s No. 33 crew (218.668 seconds). Coming in third was Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s No. 88 crew, which serviced the National Guard ‘8 Soldiers 8 Missions’/AMP Energy Chevrolet in 225.687 seconds.

“I’m glad the DuPont crew is getting the recognition they deserve,” said Steve Letarte, crew chief of the No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet. “They are one of the pieces necessary to win races, and they have been consistent all year long.”

Gordon’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Clay Robinson (front-tire changer), Mike Houston (front-tire carrier), Joe Slingerland (rear-tire changer), Matt Ver Meer (rear-tire carrier), Jeff Cook (jackman), Caleb Hurd (gasman), Jamie Frady (catch-can), Colin Fambrough (back-up tire changer) and Andy Kruep (eighth man). The team’s pit crew coaches are Greg Morin and Keith Flynn.

The winning pit crew in each Sprint Cup race will earn $5,000 and a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.