Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. – Over the past couple months, spent the summer determining the driver with the most success or closest association with each car number that ever competed in NASCAR.

Hendrick Motorsports was well-represented on the list, which looked at No. 1 all the way through No. 99, even including Nos. 00-09.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Terry Labonte was the first former Hendrick Motorsports driver to make the list, claiming the top spot for the No. 5 car.

He won 12 races in that car number for the organization and even captured the 1996 NASCAR Cup Series championship behind the wheel of the No. 5 Chevrolet.

Geoff Bodine and Kasey Kahne were honorable mentions for the No. 5 selection. Of the car number’s 45 wins all-time, 38 have come via Hendrick Motorsports drivers.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Jeff Gordon was pegged as the most iconic driver when it comes to the No. 24 as the only driver to win in that car number. His 93 career wins behind the wheel of the No. 24 Chevy rank third all-time in the sport.

Tim Richmond was up next as the pick for the No. 25. He is the winningest driver of that car number, as nine of his 13 career wins came behind the wheel of the No. 25.

Hendrick Motorsports owns eight additional wins with the No. 25 Chevrolet, led by Ken Schrader’s four victories. Schrader was named an honorable mention associated with the number.

For the No. 35 car, NASCAR Hall of Famer Benny Parsons was the pick. He piloted that car number for Hendrick Motorsports during the 1987 season, earning six top-five finishes and nine top-10s, leading 87 laps in the process. He also placed the No. 35 ride in Victory Lane for a Daytona 500 qualifying race leading up to the 1987 campaign.

Jimmie Johnson earned the distinction for the No. 48 car number. Having used the car number for every one of his starts, 83 wins and seven Cup Series championships, the driver also owns the most poles with the car number – 36.

Another of the notable highlights for the organization on the list was NASCAR Hall of Famer Darrell Waltrip being named honorable mention for the No. 17, which he piloted for Hendrick Motorsports from 1987-90.

Other former Hendrick Motorsports drivers were picked for various car numbers, but not the ones they drove for the organization. Dale Earnhardt Jr. was the top pick for the No. 8 car and was honorable mention when it came to the No. 88. Other top selections included Mark Martin in the Nos. 6 and 02, Ricky Rudd in the No. 10, Bodine in the No. 50, Brian Vickers in the No. 83 and Waltrip in the No. 95. Labonte was also the pick in the No. 44 car in addition to the No. 5 he drove for Hendrick Motorsports.

Though Chase Elliott is the most recent winner in the No. 9 ride, his dad – NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott – got the nod for that number.

Check out the full list on here.