CONCORD, N.C. -- Chase Elliott will lead his Hendrick Motorsports teamamtes at Talladega Superspeedway this weekend and start in third place for the second race of the NASCAR Cup Series Round of 12.

Elliott, who won at the track in April 2019, will return in his black and red A SHOC scheme. Teammate Kyle Larson will start in the row behind Elliott in fifth place while William Byron and Alex Bowman will roll off the grid 10th and 11th, respectively.

The starting lineup was set based on the metrics formula from last season. It applies the data from the driver's finishing position of the last race (25%), the car owner's finishing position from the last race (25%), team owner points ranking (35%) and the fastest lap from the previous race.

For the playoffs, the metrics for the 12 drivers in the hunt for the 2021 Cup Series championship will be calculated for the first 12 spots in the field followed by the remaining Cup drivers.

Take a look below at the starting lineup for the race at Talladega and to tune in this Sunday, Oct. 3 at 2 p.m. ET on NBC to catch the Hendrick Motorsports teams in action.

1. Denny Hamlin
2. Kyle Busch
3. Chase Elliott
4. Ryan Blaney
5. Kyle Larson
6. Martin Truex Jr.
7. Brad Keselowski
8. Joey Logano
9. Kevin Harvick
10. William Byron
11. Alex Bowman

12. Christopher Bell
13. Tyler Reddick
14. Kurt Busch
15. Matt DiBenedetto
16. Austin Dillon
17. Chase Briscoe
18. Daniel Suarez
19. Bubba Wallace
20. Aric Almirola
21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
22. Michael McDowell
23. Ross Chastain
24. Chris Buescher
25. Ryan Newman
26. Erik Jones
27. Ryan Preece
28. Cole Custer
29. Corey LaJoie
30. Anthony Alfredo
31. Cody Ware
32. BJ McLeod
33. Justin Allgaier
34. Josh Bilicki
35. Quin Houff
36. Joey Gase
37. Garrett Smithley
38. Justin Haley
39. David Starr
40. Landon Cassill