CONCORD, N.C. -- Kyle Larson will lead the NASCAR Cup Series field to the green flag for Sunday's Round of 8 playoff race at Kansas Speedway.

Larson earned his front-runner starting position after leading 256 laps at Texas Motor Speedway last Sunday before winning his eighth points-paying race in the 2021 Cup Series season.

Chase Elliott will roll off the grid fifth as the defending Cup Series champion looks to keep his playoff dreams alive. William Byron will start ninth just outside of the eight playoff drivers after his runner-up finish in Texas. Alex Bowman rounds out the Hendrick Motorsports brigade and will roll off the grid 25th at Kansas.

The starting lineup was set based on the metrics formula from last season. It applies the data from the driver's finishing position of the last race (25%), the car owner's finishing position from the last race (25%), team owner points ranking (35%) and the fastest lap from the previous race.

For the playoffs, the metrics for the eight drivers in the hunt for the 2021 Cup Series championship will be calculated for the first eight spots in the field followed by the remaining Cup drivers.

Take a look below at the starting lineup for the second race in the Round of 8 at Kansas Speedway. The event will begin Sunday at 3 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

  1.  Kyle Larson
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Joey Logano
  9. William Byron
  10. Christopher Bell
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Tyler Reddick
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Austin Dillon
  15. Matt DiBenedetto
  16. Daniel Suarez
  17. Erik Jones
  18. Michael McDowell
  19. Chase Briscoe
  20. Aric Almirola
  21. Chris Buescher
  22. Cole Custer
  23. Corey LaJoie
  24. Ross Chastain
  25. Alex Bowman
  26. BJ McLeod
  27. Bubba Wallace
  28. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  29. Anthony Alfredo
  30. Josh Bilicki
  31. Ryan Newman
  32. Ryan Preece
  33. Justin Haley
  34. Ryan Ellis
  35. Quin Houff
  36. Cody Ware
  37. Chad Finchum
  38. David Starr
  39. Joey Gase
  40. Parker Kligerman