Newsletter Signup
Gordon takes home third-quarter Driver of the Year

Gordon takes home third-quarter Driver of the Year

CONCORD, N.C. -- Jeff Gordon is in the midst of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup with his eyes on a fifth championship.

But he has already added another trophy to his case.

On Wednesday, it was announced that Gordon has been named the winner of the third-quarter Driver of the Year Award for 2014.

The first four-time Driver of the Year winner (1995, 1997, 1998, 2001) won the voting by a panel of leading journalists and broadcasters across the country.

The award, which began in 1967, is not exclusive to NASCAR. Gordon came out ahead of IndyCar drivers Will Power and Scott Dixon as well as sprint-car driver Donnie Schatz and drag racer Jason Line.

During the span considered for third-quarter voting, Gordon won a record fifth time at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and took home another victory at Michigan International Speedway.

He will receive a trophy for the honor and will be considered for the overall Driver of the Year title at the conclusion of the season.

"I've had the pleasure of handing Jeff many trophies," said Barry Schmoyer, president of the Driver of the Year Foundation. "His talent appears limitless."