Newsletter Signup
Where do 2014's nine wins rank?

Where do 2014's nine wins rank?

CONCORD, N.C. -- Sunday at Michigan International Speedway, Hendrick Motorsports earned win No. 227.

Jeff Gordon's victory tied him with teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jimmie Johnson at three wins apiece, giving the organization nine for the season.

That moved the 2014 season into a tie for the 10th-best in Hendrick Motorsports history when it comes to wins, and there are still three races remaining in the regular season before the 10 that make up the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

The next win would be the team's 10th, a feat Hendrick Motorsports has accomplished only nine times in its 30-year history.

Year Wins Leader
2007 18 Jimmie Johnson (10)
1998 14 Jeff Gordon (13)
2004 13 Jimmie Johnson (8)
2009 13 Jimmie Johnson (7)
1996 12 Jeff Gordon (10)
1997 11 Jeff Gordon (10)
1995 10 Jeff Gordon (7)
2005 10 Two tied (4)
2012 10 Jimmie Johnson (5)
1986 9 Tim Richmond (7)
2006 9 Jimmie Johnson (5)
2013 9 Jimmie Johnson (6)
2014* 9 Three tied (3)
*In progress

The most wins in Hendrick Motorsports annals came in 2007, when the team combined for 18 trips to Victory Lane. That season, Johnson won his second consecutive championship, with teammate Gordon in the runner-up position.

This year, both of those drivers are once again in position for a title along with teammate Earnhardt, who has also clinched his spot in this year's Chase.

Kasey Kahne has yet to secure his spot in NASCAR's postseason, but still has three chances to lock up a spot -- and he has at least one career victory at all three remaining tracks.

"I look forward to each one of those and feel like we can definitely still make the Chase," he said earlier this month.

With three drivers already in contention for a championship and another on the verge of making the Chase, Hendrick Motorsports Owner Rick Hendrick was asked who he hopes will win in 2014.

"You really think I'll answer that?" he laughed. "Look, I don't have any favorites. I would love to see Dale get his first championship. I would love to see Jimmie get number seven. I'd love to see Jeff get number five.

"The thing I'm so proud of with the whole group," he continued. "I care about them all. We give them each the best equipment. There's reasons I'd like each of them win it. Let the best man that does the best job end up with the trophy."