Newsletter Signup
Hendrick Motorsports teammates have secured spots in 2014 Sprint Unlimited

Hendrick Motorsports teammates have secured spots in 2014 Sprint Unlimited

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – As the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season nears its conclusion, Hendrick Motorsports teammates Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson are among those who have punched their ticket for next season’s first event -- The Sprint Unlimited At Daytona scheduled for Saturday night, Feb. 15 at Daytona International Speedway (TV -- FOX Sports One, Radio -- MRN Radio and Sirius XM Satellite Radio).

Twenty NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers have earned starting positions in the 2014 edition of The Sprint Unlimited, the 75-lap non-points event that kicks off the stock car portion of Budweiser Speedweeks 2014.

For the second straight year, The Sprint Unlimited will feature pole winners from the previous season and past winners of The Sprint Unlimited who have attempted to qualify for at least one NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race during the 2013 season.

The Hendrick Motorsports teammates have won a combined six pole positions this year.

Earnhardt qualified for The Sprint Unlimited by winning poles this season at Kentucky Speedway in June and Dover (Del.) International Speedway in September. Gordon earned his spot in the exhibition event after winning the top spot at Richmond (Va.) International Raceway in September and Charlotte (N.C.) Motor Speedway in October.

Johnson won twice from the pole position this season, going to Victory Lane at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway in March and Pocono Raceway in June.

Drivers have two more chances -- this Sunday at Phoenix International Raceway and Nov. 17 at Homestead-Miami Speedway -- to qualify.

More details on the format, competition elements and the at-track experience opportunities for race fans will be announced in January.

Tickets for The Sprint Unlimited as well as the other events surrounding Budweiser Speedweeks 2014 are available online at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.