Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. – There are only two races left in the 2015 season and this weekend the cars are heading west to Phoenix International Raceway.

For the second time this season, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers will be turning laps around the one-mile oval in the state of Arizona.

Since the organization began racing at Phoenix in 1988, Hendrick Motorsports has taken home nine wins and nine poles from the track.

But before Hendrick Motorsports drivers look to add another win to the books, let’s take a look back at three very memorable moments from Phoenix International Raceway.

April 23, 2005 – Jeff Gordon had not yet won a pole at Phoenix International Raceway, but that changed when he arrived at the track in 2005. Gordon posted the highest qualifying speed, earning him the pole position. That marked Gordon’s first pole award of the season and his first at the Arizona track. To date, the driver of the No. 24 Chevrolet has two wins and three poles at Phoenix. And he finished the 2005 season taking home four victories and two poles.

Nov. 13, 2005 – After qualifying for the race 15th, Kyle Busch knew he had lot of work to do if he was going to make his way to the front of the field. He eventually led 63 laps of the race and took home the checkered flag at Phoenix. When the 2005 season came to a close, Busch had won two races and was announced as the Rookie of the Year in his first season driving for Hendrick Motorsports.

April 12, 2008 – Jimmie Johnson was the reigning winner at Phoenix and he was back to make it two in a row. After qualifying seventh for the 312-mile race, Johnson kept his No. 48 Chevrolet out front for 120 laps. When the checkered flag waved, he was the first to cross the finish line. A few months later Johnson returned to Phoenix to sweep the track, making it three in a row for Johnson at the one-mile track. And by the end of the season, Johnson had earned seven victories and his third consecutive championship.