Newsletter Signup
Liberty University

Article sponsored by
Liberty University

CONCORD, N.C. – At Pocono Raceway, Hendrick Motorsports owns a couple records when it comes to wins.

The organization has earned 17 wins at the Pennsylvania track, which is most among all teams. And those 17 wins were recorded by seven different Hendrick Motorsports drivers, which is also an all-time record at Pocono.

Jeff Gordon, who was recently elected into the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2019, found Victory Lane at the track six of those 17 times, which is also a record at the 2.5-mile triangle.

His sixth and final win at Pocono, coming on Aug. 5, 2012, marked the beginning of a historical run of success for Hendrick Motorsports at the “Tricky Triangle.”

The following year, Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne both took the checkered flag at the venue, giving the organization three straight wins at Pocono, including a sweep of the 2013 season.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. would continue the team’s dominance in 2014.

After rolling off the grid eighth in the June 8, 2014 event, the driver worked his way through the field and led the final five laps of the 160-lap event en route to Victory Lane.

The win gave Hendrick Motorsports its fourth consecutive win at Pocono with four different drivers.

The most recent and only other time a Cup Series team has accomplished that feat?

Flash back all the way to 1955 to 1956, when Carl Kiekhafer Racing won four consecutive races at Martinsville Speedway with drivers Tim Flock, Speedy Thompson, Buck Baker and Jack Smith.

Earnhardt added another win at the track in August, completing the season sweep at Pocono and giving the organization its fifth straight win at the “Tricky Triangle,” another Pocono Raceway record.

The organization will compete for its 18th win at Pocono raceway this weekend.