Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. – There will be a new most popular driver in the NASCAR Cup Series this year.

Voting for the 2018 National Motorsports Press Association Most Popular Driver Award, presented by Hooters, officially opened Wednesday, Sept. 5, at 12 p.m. ET.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. accepted the award for the 15th consecutive season last December in Las Vegas. But with Earnhardt now in the broadcast booth, the race is wide open for a new recipient.

“With me retiring, there’s a great opportunity for a lot of these guys, the younger guys particularly, who are more social media savvy,” Earnhardt said last year.

Earnhardt’s 15 consecutive wins marked the longest streak since the award was first presented in 1953. The record for all-time most popular driver wins belongs to Bill Elliott – Chase Elliott’s father – with 16.

The younger Elliott is on the ballot this year along with all three of his Hendrick Motorsports teammates – William Byron, Jimmie Johnson and Alex Bowman.

Fans can vote for a single driver once per day through Tuesday, Nov. 27, at 12 p.m. ET. Votes shared on Facebook or Twitter count double.

The 2018 NMPA Most Popular Driver winner will be announced as part of the NASCAR Cup Series Awards on Thursday, Nov. 29, in Las Vegas. It will be broadcast on NBCSN, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

Be sure to make your vote count starting today!