Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. – Tuesday afternoon, NASCAR announced the Cup Series schedule for the 2020 season.

And it features plenty of shake-ups, including a double-header weekend, an additional night race and a new season finale.

"I commend NASCAR on this," NASCAR Hall of Famer Jeff Gordon said. "I'm impressed with what they've done."

Some of the most notable changes revolve around a revamped, 10-race playoffs, which will begin with the Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway and ultimately crown a champion at ISM Raceway next season. 

The cutoff races in the playoffs will fall at Bristol Motor Speedway, the Charlotte Motor Speedway road course and Martinsville Speedway.

Speaking of Martinsville, the track will hold a Saturday night race under the lights on Mother's Day weekend.

"That night race at Martinsville, I can't wait for that," Gordon said. "At night, you're going to see the rotors glow, you're going to see the sparks flying -- we might even be able to see the tempers flaring from inside those cars at night."

Pocono Raceway, meanwhile, will host an unprecedented double-header weekend in late June, holding Cup Series races on Saturday, June 27, and Sunday, June 28.

Additional alterations to the regular season include the West Coast swing moving to directly after the Daytona 500, the Brickyard 400 shifting to the July 4th weekend and the summer race at Daytona International Speedway becoming the final race of the regular season.

"Daytona being the final race going into the playoffs, how significant that's going to be of maybe getting somebody into the playoffs that hadn't been in there already," Gordon said, "or just how it might shake things up and knock somebody out."

Check out the full 2020 slate below and stay tuned to for more reaction to the schedule shake-up.


Sunday, Feb. 9 Daytona International Speedway (The Clash/Daytona 500 qualifying)
Thursday, Feb. 13 Daytona International Speedway (Duels)
Sunday, Feb. 16 Daytona International Speedway (Daytona 500)
Sunday, Feb. 23 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 1 Auto Club Speedway
Sunday, March 8 ISM Raceway
Sunday, March 15 Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 22 Homestead-Miami Speedway
Sunday, March 29 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 5 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, April 19 Richmond Raceway
Sunday, April 26 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, May 3 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, May 9 Martinsville Speedway
Saturday, May 16 Charlotte Motor Speedway (All-Star Race)
Sunday, May 24 Charlotte Motor Speedway
Sunday, May 31 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, June 7 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, June 14 Sonoma Raceway
Sunday, June 21 Chicagoland Speedway
Saturday, June 27 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, June 28 Pocono Raceway
Sunday, July 5 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Saturday, July 11 Kentucky Speedway
Sunday, July 19 New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sunday, Aug. 9 Michigan International Speedway
Sunday, Aug. 16 Watkins Glen International
Sunday, Aug. 23 Dover International Speedway
Saturday, Aug. 29 Daytona International Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 6 Darlington Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 12 Richmond Raceway
Saturday, Sept. 19 Bristol Motor Speedway
Sunday, Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 4 Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, Oct. 11 Charlotte Motor Speedway (Road Course)
Sunday, Oct. 18 Kansas Speedway
Sunday, Oct. 25 Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 1 Martinsville Speedway
Sunday, Nov. 8 ISM Raceway