Newsletter Signup

CONCORD, N.C. – Rick Hendrick is once again a Hall of Famer.

The Hendrick Motorsports owner was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2017, just four years after he got the nod for the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2013.

This week, it was announced that Hendrick would join the latest class in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

He’s joined in the class of 2020 by NASCAR’s first-ever champion Robert “Red” Byron; motorcycle racer Chris Carr; motorcycle racer, promoter and publisher Floyd Clymer; driver, official and safety advocate Wally Dallenbach, Sr.; Daytona 500 champion Tiny Lund; Can-Am and Rolex 24 At Daytona champion Jacky Ickx; quarter-mile racing legend “Ohio” George Montgomery; and Baja 500 and 1,000 and SCORE World Champion Ivan “Ironman” Stewart.

The nine honorees will be enshrined into the Hall on Tuesday, March 17, in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Under Hendrick’s leadership, Hendrick Motorsports has grown from five employees in its inaugural 1984 season to more than 600. Since the beginning, 254 NASCAR Cup Series wins – including Alex Bowman’s victory last weekend at Chicagoland Speedway – and 12 Cup Series championships have followed.

The organization has proved a model of consistency, capturing at least one Cup Series win in every season since 1986 – the longest active streak.

Hendrick’s sustained success and impact on the sport has now earned him yet another Hall of Fame honor.