Newsletter Signup

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- The first race of 2016 is another step closer.

For the second consecutive year, on the eve of the Sprint Unlimited, fans were paired with each crew chief for a random drawing to determine the starting order and pit road positions.

And No. 48 team crew chief Chad Knaus can thank his lucky fan, because he drew the pole position for Jimmie Johnson.

Johnson will lead two of his Hendrick Motorsports teammates to the first green flag of the season. Kasey Kahne will start 20th and Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start 23rd. Rookie Chase Elliott did not meet the eligibility requirements for the race.

The 75-lap exhibition race will be split into two segments. The first segment contains 25 laps and will be followed by a competition caution. The remaining 50 laps will comprise the second segment, concluding the season-kickoff event.

It will air live on FOX at 8 p.m. ET, and will also be available on the radio via MRN and SiriusXM.