Newsletter Signup
NASCAR announces 2013 Cup schedule

NASCAR announces 2013 Cup schedule

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – NASCAR announced today the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule for the 2013 season, a highly anticipated campaign that will welcome redesigned race cars to the track.
Though unveiled and tested throughout the 2012 season, the new models, including the Chevrolet SS, will make their official entrance into NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competition on Feb. 16 with the preseason non-points Shootout at Daytona International Speedway. Qualifying for the Great American Race will take place on Feb. 17, followed by the season-opening 55th running of the Daytona 500 on Feb. 24.
The 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule, marking the 65th season for NASCAR’s premier series, will have a familiar feel, opening with the Daytona 500 before moving west to Phoenix International Raceway (March 3) and Las Vegas Motor Speedway (March 10) for races Nos. 2 and 3. For the third consecutive season, NASCAR’s playoffs – the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup – will start at Chicagoland Speedway, near one of the country’s biggest markets. The Chase will conclude with the season finale on Nov. 17 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.
With Kansas Speedway’s repave project now complete, next season’s Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway autumn event will return to its traditional spot on the calendar. Talladega’s 2013 Chase race, No. 6 during the 10-race stretch, will run Oct. 20. Kansas will host its 2013 Chase event on Oct. 6.
Below is the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule in its entirety.

Feb. 16: Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway (Shootout)
Feb. 17: Daytona International Speedway (Daytona 500 Qualifying)
Feb. 21: Daytona International Speedway (Duels)
Feb. 24: Daytona 500
March 3: Phoenix International Raceway
March 10: Las Vegas Motor Speedway
March 17: Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway
March 24: Auto Club Speedway
April 7:  Martinsville (Va.) Speedway
April 13: Texas Motor Speedway
April 21: Kansas Speedway
April 27: Richmond (Va.) International Raceway
May 5: Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway
May 11: Darlington (S.C.) Raceway
May 18: NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race (Charlotte Motor Speedway)
May 26: Charlotte (N.C.) Motor Speedway
June 2: Dover (Del.) International Speedway
June 9: Pocono Raceway
June 16: Michigan International Speedway
June 23: Sonoma
June 29: Kentucky Speedway
July 6:  Daytona International Speedway
July 14: New Hampshire Motor Speedway
July 28: Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Aug. 4:  Pocono Raceway
Aug. 11: Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International
Aug. 18: Michigan International Speedway
Aug. 24: Bristol Motor Speedway
Sept. 1: Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sept. 7: Richmond International Raceway
Sept. 15: Chicagoland Speedway
Sept. 22: New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sept. 29: Dover International Speedway
Oct. 6: Kansas Speedway
Oct. 12: Charlotte Motor Speedway
Oct. 20: Talladega Superspeedway
Oct. 27: Martinsville Speedway
Nov. 3: Texas Motor Speedway
Nov. 10: Phoenix International Raceway
Nov. 17: Homestead-Miami Speedway