INDIANAPOLIS – Chase Elliott will line up in eighth for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at the road course of Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 

The 26-year-old's lap of 98.226 mph around the 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course in the final round of qualifying placed his No. 9 NAPA AUTO PARTS Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 in row four. 

Elliott enters Sunday’s race riding a streak of five straight top-two finishes. That run of finishes has included three wins at Nashville Superspeedway, Atlanta Motor Speedway and Pocono Raceway as well as two runner-up finishes. This is the eighth time since 1986 that a Cup Series driver has had at least five consecutive top-two results and it is the sixth instance for a Hendrick Motorsports driver with such a streak in that span.

Elliott’s crew chief, Alan Gustafson, is also one win shy of matching Rodney Childers for the most victories by an active crew chief at 38 wins. 

RELATED: Putting Elliott's top-two streak in perspective

Kyle Larson will start 22nd in the No. 5 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1. Race day will also mark the 2021 champion's 30th birthday. In NASCAR history, there has been five occurrences (among three drivers) where a driver has won on their birthday. 

William Byron will line up 23rd in the No. 24 Acronis Chevrolet Camaro ZL1. Alex Bowman and the No. 48 Ally Racing team will take to the grid from the 28th spot in the field. 

Tyler Reddick grabbed the pole position for the 82-lap race. 

Last year marked the first time the Cup Series raced on the road layout at “The Brickyard.” Larson and Elliott placed third and fourth, respectively, in that event.  

Hendrick Motorsports has the most all-time wins on road courses with 25. Since its inaugural season in 1984, the organization has won 28 percent of road course events (25 wins in 88 races). Seven different drivers have accounted for those wins with Jeff Gordon leading the way with nine victories, which is also the most among all the drivers). Elliott’s seven road course wins are the most among active drivers. Larson and Tim Richmond each have three wins on road courses, while Jimmie Johnson, Geoff Bodine and Ricky Rudd each tallied one win apiece. 

PHOTOS: See every road course win for Hendrick Motorsports

Tune in to the road course action on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET on NBC with radio coverage on IMS Radio Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio (Channel 90).