Newsletter Signup
Read this, then vote Saturday for the 2013 Sprint Unlimited starting lineup

Read this, then vote Saturday for the 2013 Sprint Unlimited starting lineup

CONCORD, N.C. - NASCAR announced Tuesday that race fans will have the final voice in selecting the starting lineup for the Sprint Unlimited at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway this Saturday, Feb. 16.

But what does that mean for fans of Hendrick Motorsports?

Here are the three options:
1) Number of career wins (most to least)
2) 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series final championship standings
3) The order in which drivers earned pole positions during the 2012 season. (Daytona 500 - first to Homestead-Miami Speedway - last)

All of these are good options for Hendrick Motorsports. The first option would give the organization its first front row in the season-opening exhibition event, while the second choice keeps the teammates – all 2012 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup qualifiers – inside the top 12. The third selection is a little less exciting, but the Hendrick Motorsports quartet would line up 18th or better.

Here is the full breakdown for Hendrick Motorsports based on:

Career wins (and based on current entry list):
1st - Jeff Gordon, 87 wins
2nd - Jimmie Johnson, 60 wins
11th - Dale Earnhardt Jr., 19 wins – tiebreaker based on his finish in the 2012 championship points. Earnhardt was 12th in the final standings, while Kevin Harvick was eighth and Carl Edwards was 15th.
13th - Kasey Kahne, 14 wins (and Ryan Newman – 16 wins - not entered)

Final 2012 standings:
Third - Jimmie Johnson
Fourth - Kasey Kahne
10th - Jeff Gordon
12th - Dale Earnhardt Jr.

2012 pole wins:
Third - Kasey Kahne, March, Las Vegas
10th - Jeff Gordon, May, Talladega
12th - Jimmie Johnson, June, Kentucky
18th - Dale Earnhardt Jr., September, Richmond

The starting lineup is one of several aspects fans can vote upon for Saturday's Sprint Unlimited, which will be televised on FOX at 8 p.m. ET.

To participate, fans can cast their vote through a digital app at one of four Daytona Rewards Stations on Daytona International Speedway property or through texting. The Daytona Rewards Stations will be located in the Midway, Sprint FANZONE, DIS Ticket & Tours Building and at the Gate 8 Pedestrian Bridge. Texting information on how to vote will be promoted throughout the day to race fans on property at the “World Center of Racing.” Voting for the starting lineup will take place on Saturday only from 9:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Fans currently can select:

-The number of laps in each segment (ends Feb. 13)
-The type of pit stop a team makes after the first segment (ends Feb. 16, segment one)
-How many cars will be eliminated after the second segment (ends Feb. 16, segment two)

Votes can be cast on NASCAR’s new official mobile app – NASCAR Mobile ’13 – or at All votes made through the NASCAR Mobile ’13 app will count twice.