Email Signup

CONCORD, N.C. -- 2020 was a season to remember in the NASCAR Cup Series and for Hendrick Motorsports. Despite the ups and downs that put racing on hold for over two months, the Cup Series adapted and was able to get all 36 races in for the year.

With the 2020 season wrapped, let’s look back on the NASCAR Cup Series year for Hendrick Motorsports.

  • Hendrick Motorsports won seven times in 2020. The organization has won at least one race each of the last 35 seasons, which is the all-time record for most consecutive years with at least one win by a team. 
  • Hendrick Motorsports led in the last 14 races of the season, the longest active streak by a team. The organization also had top-10 finishes in the last 18 races, which marks the first time in over five seasons Hendrick Motorsports had a streak that long.
  • The organization celebrated its first Cup Series championship in three seasons after Chase Elliott rallied to dominate the Championship 4 event at Phoenix Raceway, which was a record-extending 13th title win. Elliott started from the rear due to inspection issues but came back to earn the win. With Elliott’s championship win, Hendrick Motorsports has half of the last 26 titles. 
  • Elliott won five totals races in 2020, including three playoff races. He led for 717 laps in the 10 events, recorded five top-five finishes and seven top-10s. This year marked the first time Elliott had ever made it to the Championship 4 race.
  • William Byron took the checkered flag at Daytona International Speedway on Aug. 29 to commemorate his first win in the highest level of stock car racing. At the time, Byron was 22 years, 9 months and 1 day when he won the race - a 24-day difference from when former No. 24 driver Jeff Gordon won his first race at 22 years, 9 months and 25 days.
  • Jimmie Johnson was celebrated all year to commemorate his final full-time season in the Cup Series. He accounts for seven of Hendrick Motorsports’ 13 championships and was the last driver before Elliott to bring the team a title. Like Elliott, Johnson started from the rear of the field in 2016 to come from behind and earn his record-tying seventh championship.
  • Alex Bowman earned one win, six top-five finishes, 15 top-10s and led 440 laps in 2020. The top-10 results and laps led are personal bests for the Tucson, Arizona, native. He also had his highest points-paying season in his Cup Series career (sixth).
  • The 2020 season also saw some massive changes within Hendrick Motorsports. With Johnson’s retirement, the organization signed Kyle Larson and he will drive the No. 5 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 1LE next season. Bowman was tabbed to take over the No. 48 Ally Chevrolet and he will have the former No. 88 team along for the ride. Legendary crew chief Chad Knaus will take on an executive role, which allowed Rudy Fugle to take over atop the pit box for the No. 24 team.